NEW $1.00 STATE OF CALIFORNIA FEE FOR NEW OR RENEWAL OF BUSINESS LICENSES
GOES INTO EFFECT JANUARY 1, 2013
On September 19, 2012 Governor Brown signed into law SB-1186 which adds a state fee of $1 on any applicant for a
local business license or similar instrument or permit, or renewal thereof. The purpose is to increase disability access
and compliance with construction-related accessibility requirements and to develop educational resources for businesses
in order to facilitate compliance with federal and state disability laws, as specified.
Under federal and state law, compliance with disability access laws is a serious and significant responsibility that applies
to all California building owners and tenants with buildings open to the public. You may obtain information about your
legal obligations and how to comply with disability access laws at the following agencies:
○ The Division of the State Architect at www.dgs.ca.gov/dsa/Home.aspx.
○ The Department of Rehabilitation at http://www.rehab.cahwnet.gov/.
○ The California Commission on Disability Access at http://www.ccda.ca.gov/.