Deborah Cox

Deborah CoxDeborah Cox, Council Member District 1

Email Deborah Cox
Phone: 510-577-3357
Voicemail: 510-577-0601
835 E 14th Street
San Leandro, CA 94577
Term Expires: December 2022



Deborah moved to San Leandro in 1997 with her husband and then 18-month old son, who is now a proud graduate of the San Leandro Public Schools. They reside in District 1's Estudillo Estates neighborhood.

City Council District Map

Deborah is honored to have served as Vice Mayor in 2018 and to have received the following Awards/Recognitions:

  • Assembly member Rob Bonta's Woman of the Year (2013)
  • City of San Leandro, District 1 Citizen of the Year (2012)
  • PTA Distinguished Service Award (2004 to 2005)
  • San Leandro Chamber of Commerce Education Business of the Year (2013)
  • San Leandro Unified School District Volunteer of the Year (2007)


Deborah is a Senior Field Representative for State Assembly Member Bill Quirk (District 20). Some of the issue areas she is responsible for are the issues of the climate crisis, agriculture, telecom, transportation, education, and public safety.

Community Involvement

  • Board of Directors, California Conservatory Theater
  • Board of Directors, San Leandro Swim Team
  • Co-chair, Yes on Measure B School Bond Campaign (2006)
  • Co-chair, Yes on Measure L Parcel Tax Campaign (2012)
  • Co-chair, Yes on Measure A Parcel Tax Campaign (2006)
  • Co-Founder and Past President of San Leandro Education Foundation
  • Member, Assembly member Rob Bonta's Education Advisory Committee
  • Past Chair, San Leandro Human Services Commission
  • Past Chair, San Leandro Unified School District Citizens Bond Oversight Committee
  • Past President of the Estudillo Homeowners Association
  • Past President Political Action Committee for Excellence (PACE)
  • PTA, President, Roosevelt Elementary School
  • PTA President, Bancroft Middle School
  • San Leandro High United Parents
  • Steering Committee, Leading San Leandro
  • Volunteer, Building Futures with Women and Children

Intergovernmental Agencies

  • Alameda County Transportation Commission - Alternate for Wilma Chan
  • Alameda County Waste Management Authority (StopWaste) - Chair
  • StopWaste Recycling Committee - Chair